The Lessons of the American Civilization©

Its Confident Rise and The Possible Warning Signs of Its Decline

By Thomas G. Del Beccaro

COMING JULY 30, 2024

The American civilization and its place in history comes to life in

distinguished author Thomas Del Beccaro’s newest book:

The Lessons of the American Civilization

The Lessons of the American Civilization tells the American story from its earliest and tenuous beginnings to its confident rise in becoming the World’s most dominant civilization. Historian Thomas Del Beccaro illuminates America’s past and present with fresh comparisons to history’s great civilizations with the guidance of history’s greatest Historical Philosophers. For the everyday reader and historian alike, Del Beccaro illustrates the characteristics and lessons that civilizations share as they come together, rise and fall.  He then tells the American experience, from Plymouth Rock to America’s technological revolution, in light of many important lessons of the past.

Along the way, Del Beccaro provides needed perspective on such topics as:

~  Whether America is exceptional compared to other civilizations.

~  Capitalism’s most important legacy of making democracy possible and why it remains necessary to sustain free governments around the globe.

~  America’s changing economic, governmental and societal institutions.

~  How and why political power centralizes and its impact on America today.

~  Government’s historical impact on wealth and prosperity.

~  What America’s political and class division says about the trajectory

of the American civilization.

~  What lies ahead for the American Civilization.

In 2007, Del Beccaro began speaking and then writing about the sources of political and cultural division in the United States.  Then, in 2015, according to White House Correspondent John Gizzi, in “the tradition of historians Will and Ariel Durant in The Story of Civilization,” those efforts culminated in his book The Divided Era, which explains why the more government decides the more it divides.

Now, “picking up where he left off with The Divided Era, Del Beccaro continues his writing in the tradition of Will and Ariel Durant, with his latest work, The Lessons of the American Civilization. Del Beccaro’s sweeping study of the American Civilization places America’s past in the historical perspective too often missing from American classrooms and political discussions today.” John Gizzi, White House/Congressional Correspondent for over forty years.

D8260D12-2342-4003-B4D7-A23D1AA34D89_1_105_c
  • Thought provoking . . . well worth reading.”  

  • A deep blend of American history and economics. Once upon a time in America, and not so long ago, we were on our way, striding, purposeful, and succeeding. Del Beccaro’s Lessons shows us how to break out of modern habits and resume our journey toward freedom, peace, and above all prosperity.”

  • Picking up where he left off with The Divided Era, Del Beccaro continues his writing in the tradition of Will and Ariel Durant, with his latest work, The Lessons of the American Civilization. Del Beccaro’s sweeping study of the American Civilization places America’s past in the historical perspective too often missing from American classrooms and political discussions today.” 

  • Del Beccaro's Lessons demonstrates a keen understanding of economics and history.  It is a must read by anyone concerned about the long-term future of this country."

  • "This book reminded me why I am so proud to have become an American. And it reminds all of us why being an American means much more than nationality. It means inheriting a set of ideas that represent both opportunity and obligation. Opportunity to live our lives in the greatest nation on earth, obligation to fight to keep it so - especially today, when the American idea is under assault, even from within. This is an essential book for NOW."

  • “Del Beccaro’s Lessons is reminiscent ofToynbee and Durant, with the analytical skills of a Bill Buckley - rendered in an approachable and digestible manner. A triumph of research, thoughtfulness for the Everyman.”

  • "Del Beccaro's Lessons once again demonstrates Del Beccaro's deep understanding of the nexus between government policy, economics and human behavior. He is a big thinker in the mold of Charles Krauthammer." 

  • Del Beccaro’s must read Lessons of the American Civilization is a wide-ranging and incisive analysis of American culture, economics, history, and politics covering the waterfront of forces affecting America’s future.”

  • “Many ask what is happening in American culture today. Del Beccaro’s Lessons vividly answers the question with his incisive historical perspective." 

  • "Benjamin Franklin described America as 'a Republic, if you can keep it.' Thomas Del Beccaro outlines beautifully what forces have been at work to both keep and to destroy that republic. Americans would do well to read this book so as to learn how to repeat our past successes and, perhaps more so, avoid the harbingers of our downfall."

Coming July 30, 2024 – The Lessons of the American Civilization – Presales in June